Peppermint Slice

Several years ago, there was a cafe near my department which used to sell peppermint slice, which was a great favourite of a good friend of mine. Sadly, the cafe closed and the peppermint slice disappeared. My friend has given me a great deal of help with my thesis so I thought I would try to recreate the fabled peppermint slice to say thankyou. I think I’ve been successful, so I thought I’d share the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 200g plain flour
  • 150g butter
  • 75g sugar
  • 50g cocoa
  • 300g icing sugar
  • peppermint essence
  • green food colouring (optional)
  • 200g chocolate
  1. Grease and line a 25cm x 25cm brownie tin (or similar) and preheat oven to 160C.
  2. Rub flour, butter, sugar and cocoa together to make breadcrumbs.
  3. Spread breadcrumbs in the tin to an even thickness and bake at 160C for 35minutes.
  4. While the base is cooking, put the icing sugar into a bowl. Add a drop of peppermint essence, and gradually add small amounts of warm water to make a thick paste. Don’t worry if you add too much water – just add more icing sugar. If you fancy it, add some green food colouring.
  5. Once the base has been removed from the oven and has cooled slightly, spread the peppermint paste over the base. Put in the fridge to cool thoroughly (I went for overnight).
  6. Melt the chocolate using your preferred chocolate melting technique. Pour over the peppermint layer and leave to cool.
  7. Cut into squares – I find dipping the knife into hot water helps to slightly melt the chocolate around the cut and prevents the chocolate cracking.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Friends and Family, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peppermint Slice

Leave a Reply

