Four quarters – a wedding quilt for Rosie and John

I like to make quilts as wedding presents. For Rosie and John, I wanted to include as many people as possible in making the quilt. Rosie’s sister helped me get in touch with some of their relations and I got in touch with friends from university. Everyone was really keen to get involved.

I wanted a block design that would be simple enough for complete beginners yet interesting for more seasoned quilters. I came up with a variation on a log cabin block: an outsized central square surrounded by random thickness strips. I’ve written a tutorial for this block which I’ll be putting up here soon.

Once all nine blocks had been made up, I sliced them up into four quarters to give a total of 36 blocks, ideal for a 6×6 block quilt.

I like to think that for this quilt in particular, the whole is greater than the sum of its parts, and I know the same is true for Rosie and John.

This entry was posted in Friends and Family, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

